Pulling Up the Buttercups

Today I saw some buttercups blooming in our front lawn.  Though I think that the flower of this weed is lovely, nevertheless it is a weed and will quickly take over the lawn if left to its own.  Several weeks ago I sprayed as many as I could find with weed killer but I didn’t spray the whole plant and so they continued to grow.  But today when I saw them blooming I went outside, gathered up a lid to put them in, and a gardening tool to dig them up.  It didn’t take too long, the mature plant which produced the flower was easy to dig up.

This little moment of daily life really reminded me of the parable of the wheat and the tares, (Matthew 13:24-30).  In this parable a farmer sows good seed in his field but while men slept the enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat. Tares could quite possibly have been Darnel.  Darnel is a weed grass that looks very much like wheat until it is mature.  The farmer knew that an enemy had done this and because of the similarity in appearance, the workers were told to let both wheat and tares grow together until the harvest when the tares would be bound for burning but the wheat would be gathered into the farmer’s barn.

What could tares in a church be?  I think it is deception that is taking hold in churches everywhere.  It is very scary really to see how churches who were previously sound are compromising and giving up the “old paths” to try to attract new people but they are failing because new people, and children who have grown up in a previously sound church but are now of an age to choose for themselves, are choosing to attend churches who offer entertainment instead.  As someone told me, “I don’t want to hear about fire and brimstone, I want to be entertained.  And so what is the future of these poor deceived people?  I pray that the good Lord opens their eyes to the truth of what is going on, and takes them out of these churches and into a church strong in the faith with good leadership and holding to the “old paths”.  There are still a few of these churches around because God always has his remnant.

But as for the rest, they will go blindly on and, except they repent and receive the Lord Jesus as their Saviour, they will be like the tares and will not see heaven.  It is very sad.

As for the buttercups, I plan on digging up every new one I see when it begins to bloom.  Beautiful or not, they are weeds.

Matthew 13:30 “Let both grow together until the  harvest: and in the time of harvest I will say to the reapers, Gather ye together first the tares, and bind them in bundles to burn them: but gather the wheat into my barn”

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Your thoughts are welcomed.

