Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep..

Now I lay me down to sleep…  that is the beginning of a prayer I used to say as a little girl.

“Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep.  If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.”

I was not a Christian nor were my mother or father and yet my mother had me say this prayer every night.  Those words were meaningless to me at the time except for making me wonder if I would live to see morning.  In this prayer the reference is to “the Lord”..  not personal as in “my Lord”.  In Psalm 23:1 David speaks of “the Lord” but he qualifies it by adding “is my Shepherd”..  David’s faith is personal.

I didn’t think about this prayer for a very long time but now I am a Christian and  lately it has come back to me. When I go to bed I pray “Now I lay me down to sleep, I ask you Lord my soul to keep.  If I should die before I wake, I ask you Lord my soul to take.”  Addressing him personally and trusting that I am in his hands.

Who knows what the day will bring?

Trusting in Him..

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep..

  1. peggyjoan42 January 25, 2017 at 9:34 am Reply

    I had that child’s prayer in a little Golden book my Mom gave me as a child. Now and then I say this prayer. After I say “I pray the Lord my soul to take” – I say, “And keep for ever and ever, Amen.” May seem silly, but not to me. My granddaughter now has my little Golden book with this prayer inside. My Mother always took us to church, but my Father never became a Christian.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki January 25, 2017 at 10:26 am Reply

      I don’t think that seems silly at all.. lately I find the prayer very comforting.

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcomed.

