Operation Christmas Child, and How I Came to Take Part This Year

Have you ever packed a Christmas Child Shoebox?  I had never heard of it until about 2008 when my daughter-in-law packed one because the church they were attending was sponsoring the boxes.  When I saw hers I asked about it and then wanted to take part.  It was such fun shopping for a child I did not know, and when the box was filled and given over to my daughter-in-law to take to her church,  I am sure that I got as big a blessing in doing it as the unknown child got in receiving it.

When we moved to Vancouver Island and began attending the only gospel chapel in Duncan, I found out that they did not sponsor these boxes.  They chose instead to have a box to fill for the sailors on board ships that came to Chemainus BC.  Although husband and I did this for the 4 years we attended the chapel, it wasn’t the same as the Christmas Child Shoebox.

For reasons that are not necessary to go into here, we left that chapel a year ago and I didn’t think about the shoebox at all until a couple of days ago and I am convinced that the Lord was at work here as he always is, directing my path even though I didn’t realize it until after the fact.

For the past few weeks my husband has been meeting with an elder from the chapel for coffee on Tuesdays at the elder’s invitation.  Last week both of us were invited to their home for coffee, I had not been there in over a year, and I wondered why both of us were invited.  Our visit was set for this last Tuesday and although they were friendly, the visit was quite superficial and the elder’s wife seemed quite nervous. Then, as we were leaving, I noticed a Christmas Child Shoebox in the dining room and asked about it.  I was informed that one of the other churches in the area who is sponsoring the program had asked this elder if the chapel we used to attend would like to take part, so the elder took 15 boxes.  But as before, it didn’t look like the chapel wanted to get involved because the elder and his wife had done 6 boxes themselves.  I asked if I could do one, and so that is how I came to fill another Christmas Child Shoebox.

The next day we went shopping.  I chose to do one for a girl 5-9 and purchased a bar of soap, a face cloth and hand towel, a toothbrush, a package of pencil crayons with a sharpener enclosed, a notebook, a package of a pink and purple brush and comb, some pink and white patterned hair bands, and a white stuffed puppy.  It was so much fun for me.  Yesterday my husband delivered the box back to the elder who will take it to the church that is sponsoring the program.

Doing one of these boxes is so rewarding.  It doesn’t matter the cost involved in purchasing the items for the box, it can cost a little or a lot depending on where you shop and what you choose, but whatever, I can guarantee that when your heart is in it, you will be so blessed and happy in what you are doing.  I believe in my heart that noticing the shoebox, and asking about it, and being able to do one, was the real reason for our visit.   I believe that the Lord brought this visit about just so I could do this box, which was such a blessing to me and hopefully will be well-received by a little girl.

For more information on this most worthwhile cause which needs to be done by November 13, please follow this link:

http://samaritanspurse.ca/operation-christmas-child.aspx

Ecclesiastes 9:10 “Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might……”

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Operation Christmas Child, and How I Came to Take Part This Year

  1. peggyjoan42 November 3, 2016 at 7:50 am Reply

    Very nice idea. Actually sounds like fun to surprise a child with a box of goodies. My family tries each Christmas to help some needy family with gifts or cash.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki November 3, 2016 at 7:53 am Reply

      probably there is a church in your area that is sponsoring it that you could pick up a box from if you would like to take part. But helping a needy family in your area is a wonderful idea as well. Thank you for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

      • peggyjoan42 November 3, 2016 at 8:09 am Reply

        I am sure there is a church here doing that. Will have to check into that.

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcomed.

