A Call to Witness

 

Sometimes the Lord calls us to do something for someone we hardly know, by conviction through His holy Word.

Such was the case when my grandson Gabriel was less than a year old.  I had met his father’s grandmother only once, on the occasion of Gabriel’s birth, when he was still in the hospital. She was a woman who had a strong presence, and I remember when she came into the room, someone asked if she were the baby’s grandmother, to which she responded “I’m the GREAT grandmother!” She was so proud of Gabriel.

But before Gabriel was a year old, she was diagnosed with brain cancer, and her health declined very rapidly. I remember the day when my daughter told me that this woman only had a couple of days to live, how they had taken Gabriel to visit her, and she was so upset that she asked them to take him out of the room because she couldn’t bear it. It was so sad for her to know that she would never see him grow up.

Right after that I was reading my bible, the book of Ezekiel chapter 3, why I chose that chapter is surely by the grace of God. And I read the following:

Son of man, I have made thee a watchman unto the house of Israel: therefore hear the word at my mouth and give them warning from me. When I say unto the wicked, Thou shalt surely die; and thou givest him not warning, nor speakest to warn the wicked from his wicked way, to save his life; the same wicked man shall die in his iniquity; but his blood will I require at thine hand. Yet if thou warn the wicked, and he turn not from his wickedness, nor from his wicked way, he shall die in his iniquity; but thou hast delivered thy soul” Ezekiel 3:17-19

Now for sure I was not Ezekiel, and Gabriel’s great-grandmother was not the house of Israel, but I was convicted so powerfully that I needed right then to go to the hospital and share the gospel with her. But needing confirmation that it was the right thing to do, I phoned a very godly man from the gospel we used to attend and told him what I read.  I told him how I was feeling, and asked him what I should do, and he told me that if he felt like that, he would go and witness to her.

So with no more hesitation, I phoned my daughter and told her what I wanted to do, I needed to know exactly where Gabriel’s great-grandmother was, and what her name was. My daughter was not very happy that I was going to share the gospel with her.

I went to the hospice and to her room, and saw her lying in bed very weak. I told her who I was, and that I wanted to offer her some comfort. So she motioned for me to come in. She could not talk, but she listened as I told her how Jesus died for her, how he wanted her to receive him as her Saviour so that she would have a home in heaven. And then I asked her if I could pray with her and she nodded yes. She held my hand tightly while I prayed for her, and relaxed when I finished.

Just at that moment, her family came in, and I left, and she died the next day. I don’t know if she believed what I shared, or if she received the Lord Jesus, but eternity will tell.

But I have peace in knowing that for that time, I did as the Spirit had convicted me. Thank you Jesus for using such a hesitant soul, and for providing confirmation that it was the right thing to do. Amen.

__________________
vcg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Your thoughts are welcomed.

