Follow the Path: a Devotion of the Christian’s Life Journey


Before husband I moved to Vancouver Island, we went on a little journey to North Vancouver. On the way back, we stopped at a place called Lighthouse Park where he had never been and I had only been once many years before.

We parked the car and the path led into a deep forest for about a mile, with large cedar trees, lots of ferns, you couldn’t see the sky it was so dense. But the path was well-marked, even though it led uphill and downhill, sometimes easy, sometimes hard. Along the way a trail left the main path and turned to the left.  We watched a girl turn into that trail by herself and thought that quite foolish. The way things are these days, a woman walking alone is not a good thing, but I digress.  A little further along we could hear the sound of laughter to the right, and wondered who was there. All along the way there were benches where one could rest on their journey. As we neared the end we could see bright sunlight and the ocean, and then finally, a beautiful lighthouse guarded by a house where gardens bloomed and vegetables grew in the strong sunlight. The difference in the light and temperature were amazing.

Thinking back on our little walk I thought of how much this path is like the Christian’s journey to being with the Lord. There are hills to climb, and valleys we go down into, trials to go through along our way.  We may, no doubt will, face illness, and the death of loved ones.  But along our journey sometimes the path is peaceful and easy. The benches are like our times of rest the Lord gives us along our path to eternity.  The girl going off by herself was like the person who gives in to temptation and goes off on their own, with no doubt, consequences to bear. The laughter was like the world, enticing us, but by His strength, we continue on our journey. Reaching the sunshine, the gardens and the lighthouse, was like reaching our heavenly home, the glory of the Son and the riches of heaven, just waiting for us.

One thing I thought was really neat was when we started our journey, husband was carrying a big stick.  There are bears in the area, and old memories of our bear encounters still haunted him. But about halfway to the lighthouse he threw the stick away and continued on. To me that was like our apprehensions and perhaps our fears as we journey on our Christian walk, and then finally we trust the Lord to protect us along the way, knowing as we walk with Him, He will bring us home.

Psalm 23 is the Christian’s life journey:

V1-4 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.  He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.  He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. V6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

Jeremiah 6:16: “Thus saith the LORD, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls.

vcg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Follow the Path: a Devotion of the Christian’s Life Journey

  1. peggyjoan42 October 17, 2016 at 3:56 pm Reply

    I like the different ways you compare how Christians should act as you compare them to everyday happenings. Nice job Vicki.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki October 17, 2016 at 4:33 pm Reply

      thank you very much, I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcomed.

