The Gift of Rain and Thoughts of Hurricane Matthew

Job 5:8-10 “I would seek unto God, and unto God would I commit my cause: which doeth great things and unsearchable; marvellous things without number: Who giveth rain upon the earth, and sendeth waters upon the fields.”

Psalm 147:7-8 “Sing unto the LORD with thanksgiving; sing praise upon the harp unto our God: Who covereth the heaven with clouds, who prepareth rain for the earth, who maketh grass to grow upon the mountains.”

Isaiah 55:10 “For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater:

1 Kings 18: 41,44-45 “And Elijah said unto Ahab, Get thee up, eat and drink; for there is a sound of abundance of rain. And it came to pass at the seventh time, that he said, Behold, there ariseth a little cloud out of the sea, like a man’s hand. And he said, Go up, say unto Ahab, Prepare thy chariot, and get thee down, that the rain stop thee not. And it came to pass in the mean while, that the heaven was black with clouds and wind, and there was a great rain…..”

I used to take rain for granted. Living on the west coast of British Columbia there was always abundance of rain. It was just part of life and was never extreme. We used to joke that people who carried umbrellas must surely be tourists, for no local would ever carry an umbrella. There were no hurricanes, tornadoes or large hail.. I loved walking in the rain, and listening to it on roofs of cars. When I was a child my bedroom was below ground and my mother would turn on the sprinkler at bedtime so the sound of it would mimic rain and I would fall asleep.  I remember an employer asking me if I was some kind of vampire because I had mentioned on a rainy day that I loved inclement weather.  I loved thunder especially because it was so seldom that we heard it.

But that was long before my husband and I moved to Vancouver Island in 2011.  I did not know that there are different climates on this island, and where we chose to live there was virtually no rain from mid-July until late September, just constant clear blue sky.  The last few years have been drought years although this year we have been blessed with rainy days through the summer.  My motto now is “never complain about the rain”  and when it does pour down I like to stand outside and say “thank you Lord for every drop.”  Never will I ever take it for granted again.

And so today I think about Hurricane Matthew that is bearing down on parts of the US.  Now I do know that media always tends to make things worse than they are, but only the Lord knows just how bad this hurricane will be, or whether or not it will lose strength, these things being according to His will.   I wonder what my reaction would be if I lived in storm’s way.  I do think the best thing is to be prepared.  Food, water, alternate way of cooking, alternate energy source.   I would not want to be one dashing to the store to stock up.

And most of all, I would trust the Lord for whatever came.  I remember years ago there was a forest fire in Salmon Arm and as it was racing across a valley floor, a lady who had stayed in her home prayed for the Lord’s protection.  A helicopter flew over her house and dumped a bucket of water on it.  The fire came partly up her driveway, but later that summer when we were visiting friends, we went to see that home and saw that the fire had partly gone up the driveway, and then stopped.  The flowers were untouched as was the home.  The Lord’s protection for sure.

Who can know what the day will bring?  Commit each day to the Lord, ask to live it according to his will for you, and don’t worry about it.  As the name of this blog says, and as Matthew 6:34 says, “Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself.  Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Your thoughts are welcomed.

