God’s Grace to a Little Sparrow

Matthew 10:29-31 “Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? and one of them shall not fall on the ground without your Father.  But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  Fear ye not therefore, ye are of more value than many sparrows.”

This was a precious incident that happened to me this summer.

In April a little bullfrog appeared in our pond one day and after that when I went out to the back yard, I would look for the bullfrog who liked to stay under one of the flagstones that hung over the pond.  One day I went out and noticed a dark object on one of the rocks below the flagstones and thought that it was the bullfrog climbing onto the flagstone.  Then, to my horror, I saw that it was in fact a fledgling sparrow hanging on the rock, its body submerged, but its head above the waterline.  Immediately I bent down and scooped up the little fellow and saw that its eyes were closed, and its little body was very cold.  Then as I held him, I rushed into the house and grabbed a towel and wrapped him up with just his head exposed.  Then I went back to the yard and sat in a lawn chair in the warmth of the sun.  The little bird was still breathing but as I held him his eyes were still closed.  I kept talking to him and saying “You’re going to be OK”..

My husband then stood in front of me as I was holding the bird and said that we should be trying to find its mother.  For some reason he was uneasy with me holding the baby sparrow.  But as I sat in the chair, after a while the little sparrow slowly opened his eyes and remained calm wrapped in his towel.  I kept checking his feathers and soon his body was warming up and his wing feathers and body feathers were drying.  His tail feathers were still very wet.

Not too long after that, the baby became more active but not frightened, and I knew that it was time to let him out of the towel, so I carried him over to a dwarf blue spruce tree we have in the back yard, and put him under it.  He was able to walk around and not long after that flew up into the tree.

I didn’t watch him after that, but I hope that he is one of the sparrows that come to our back yard every day for the millet that I put under the tree.

Truly the Lord was in control, bringing me out of the house and into the back yard in time to save this baby’s life.  I am certain that a few minutes later and he would have succumbed to the cold water.  I am thankful that the Lord used me to save him.

And thinking back on this, what of ourselves?  How many times has the Lord intervened to save us from accident or even death before we were saved?  How many times since then have we escaped?  The Lord knows.

Luke 12:7 “But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered.  Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.”

Psalm 34:7 “The angel of the LORD encampeth round about them that fear him, and delivereth them.”

Here is a photo of a little fledgling sparrow that I took in summer, not the same one as is in my story, but it has Psalm 34:7 on it.

baby-sparrow-psalm347

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “God’s Grace to a Little Sparrow

  1. mycreatorscreation October 3, 2016 at 5:26 pm Reply

    It’s good to be reminded that God is interested in every small detail in my life….Blessings!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki October 3, 2016 at 7:03 pm Reply

      thank you for reading and for commenting on this post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts are welcomed.

